Red Hat Certifications

Red Hat has one of the most rigorous certification programs in the industry. As anyone who has attempted a Red Hat exam can attest, these exams are heavily weighted on your ability to perform real world tasks. View the Red Hat Certification Infographic to learn more about the value of a Red Hat Certification.

There are three tiers of Red Hat Certifications: Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA), Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE), and Red Hat Certified Architect (RHCA). Within each tier there are multiple specialties that you can focus on such as OpenStack or JBOSS. Once you have earned your RHCE there are over 20 different Certificates of Expertise that you can choose from in order to attain an RHCA.

System Administrator Engineer/Developer Architect

Red Hat Certified System Adminstrator (RHCSA)

Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE)

Red Hat Certified Architect (RHCA)

Red Hat Certified System Administrator in Red Hat OpenStack (RHCSA-RHOS)

Red Hat Certified Engineer in Red Hat OpenStack (RHCE-RHOS)

Red Hat Certified Architect:

Red Hat Certified JBoss Administrator (RHCJA)

Red Hat Certified Architect:
Datacenter (RHCA-DC)

Red Hat Certified JBoss Developer (RHCJD)

Red Hat Certified Architect:
Application Platform (RHCA-AP)

Red Hat Certified Architect:
Enterprise Application Development (RHCA-AD)

Red Hat Certified Architect:

Once you have earned your RHCE the next step is to start taking Certificate of Expertise exams to hone your skills in a particular field. There are 5 concentrations that you can focus on: Data Center, Cloud, Application Platform, Application Development, and DevOps. If you would prefer, you can also earn certificates across multiple concentrations. Once you have completed 5 Certificates of Expertise you will earn the title of RHCA.

RHCA Concentrations

Looking to recertify?

Your Red Hat Certification is good for 3 years from the date you passed your last Red Hat Exam. An RHCSA can recertify by taking either the RHCSA exam again or by taking the RHCE exam within 3 years of earning an RHCSA. An RHCE can either take the RHCE exam again or begin taking Certificates of Expertise exams to work towards the RHCA level. Finally, an RHCA must take a Certificate of Expertise exam every 3 years to maintain certification.