Google Cloud Certified Professional Cloud DevOps Engineer (PCDOE)

Professional Cloud DevOps Engineers implement processes throughout the systems development lifecycle using Google-recommended methodologies and tools. They build and deploy software and infrastructure delivery pipelines, optimize and maintain production systems and services, and balance service reliability with delivery speed.

The Professional Cloud DevOps Engineer exam assesses your ability to:

  • Bootstrap a Google Cloud organization for DevOps
  • Apply site reliability engineering practices to a service
  • Optimize service performance
  • Build and implement CI/CD pipelines for a service
  • Implement service monitoring strategies


Recommended experience: 3+ years of industry experience including 1+ years designing and managing production systems using Google Cloud.

Recommended learning path for this certification:

  • Google Cloud Fundamentals: Core Infrastructure
  • Developing a Google SRE Culture
  • Reliable Google Cloud Infrastructure: Design and Process
  • Logging, Monitoring, and Observability in Google Cloud
  • Getting Started with Terraform for Google Cloud
  • Cloud Operations and Service Mesh with Anthos


Registration for the Professional Cloud DevOps Engineer beta exam opened on February 21. Registration for the current GA exam is closed during the beta period and will reopen in late March. If you have already registered to take the current GA version of the exam during the beta period, you will still take the current GA version of the exam.

Specifics about the beta:

  • Length: 4 hours
  • Registration fee: $120 USD (40% discount on retail price of $200 USD) (plus tax where applicable)
  • Language: English
  • Exam format: Multiple choice and multiple select
  • Exam delivery method:
    • a. Take the online-proctored exam from a remote location
    • b. Take the onsite-proctored exam at a testing center

About the current GA certification exam

  • Length: Two hours
  • Registration fee: $200 (plus tax where applicable)
  • Languages: English
  • Exam format: 50-60 multiple choice and multiple select questions
  • Exam Delivery Method:
    • a. Take the online-proctored exam from a remote location
    • b. Take the onsite-proctored exam at a testing center


Candidates must recertify in order to maintain their certification status. Unless explicitly stated in the detailed exam descriptions, all Google Cloud certifications are valid for two years from the date of certification. Recertification is accomplished by retaking the exam during the recertification eligibility time period and achieving a passing score. You may attempt recertification starting 60 days prior to your certification expiration date.